NEWS: Fox Sports to televise Big 12 Baseball Championship

FOX Sports Media Group to Televise Entire Big 12 Baseball ChampionshipCoverage Begins Wednesday, May 22 on FOX College SportsChampionship Game to Air on FOX Sports Regional Networks Sunday, May 26IRVING, Texas — FOX Sports Media Group is televising the entire Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship to a national audience for the first time. FOX Sports Networks (FSN) will televise the championship final. All games leading up to the final will air on FOX College Sports (FCS).Coverage of the event from the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City begins Wednesday, May 22 and continues through Sunday, May 26. “The Big 12 Conference is excited to showcase its baseball programs to a live television audience,” Commissioner Bob Bowlsby said. “Oklahoma City and the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship have annually produced some of the country’s best collegiate baseball. We appreciate our partnership with the FOX Sports Media Group and welcome the additional exposure.”Bob Licht, Jack Lazorko, Chad McKee and Jay Payton will call the games. The quartet has spent the 2013 season covering Big 12 teams for FSN. “FOX Sports enjoys a great relationship with the Big 12 Conference and we’re thrilled to extend our comprehensive conference coverage by televising every game of this year’s Big 12 Baseball Championship,” said Gary Ehrlich, Executive Vice President, FOX Sports Networks. “For the first time, fans across the country will be able to watch all of the exciting action live on FOX College Sports and FOX Sports Networks, making it easier to follow their favorite student-athletes and teams.” The Championship is played under a two-division, double-elimination format. The eight teams with the best league records (based on winning percentage) in regular season competition qualify for the event and are divided into two divisions with seeds 1, 4, 5 and 8 in division one and seeds 2, 3, 6 and 7 in division two. There is no cross-division play until two teams reach the championship game on Sunday. Wednesday and Thursday’s action includes four games, while Friday features a pair of contests. Semifinal action on Saturday will include a minimum of two or a maximum of four games depending on that day’s early game results. The winner of the 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship earns the league’s automatic bid into the 2013 Division I NCAA Baseball Championship. This year marks the 15th year Oklahoma City has hosted the Conference’s postseason tournament. The postseason crown has been won by eight different league squads. Past postseason champions include Kansas (2006), Missouri (2012), Nebraska (1999-2001, ‘05), Oklahoma (1997), Oklahoma State (2004), Texas (2002, ‘03, ‘08-’09), Texas A&M (2007, ‘10-’11) and Texas Tech (1998).2013 PHILLIPS 66 BIG 12 BASEBALL CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE WEDNESDAY, MAY 22Game 1: Teams To Be Determined 9:00 a.m. FCSGame 2: Teams To Be Determined 12:30 p.m. FCSGame 3: Teams To Be Determined 4:00 p.m. FCSGame 4: Teams To Be Determined 7:30 p.m. FCS THURSDAY, MAY 23Game 5: Game 1 Loser vs. Game 2 Loser 9:00 a.m. FCSGame 6: Game 3 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser 12:30 p.m. FCSGame 7: Game 1 Winner vs. Game 2 Winner 4:00 p.m. FCSGame 8: Game 3 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner 7:30 p.m. FCS FRIDAY, MAY 24Game 9: Game 7 Loser vs. Game 5 Winner 3:15 p.m. FCSGame 10: Game 8 Loser vs. Game 6 Winner 7:00 p.m. FCSSATURDAY, MAY 25Game 11: Game 7 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner 9:00 a.m. FCSGame 12: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner 12:30 p.m. FCSGame 13: If Necessary 4:00 p.m. FCSGame 14: If Necessary 7:30 p.m. FCSSUNDAY, MAY 26Game 15: Division One Winner vs. Division Two Winner 1:00 p.m. FSN All times Central. Game times to be assigned once seeds and divisions are determined. Day One matchups will feature: Division One: Seeds 4 vs. 5, 1 vs. 8 • Division Two: Seeds 3 vs. 6, 2 vs. 7*Game 13 will be necessary if the winner of Game 9 also wins Game 11.**Game 14 will be necessary if the winner of Game 10 also wins Game 12.***If Game 13 is unnecessary, Game 14 will be played at 4 p.m. rather than 7:30 p.m.