Election time is here!

Election time is officially here!Of the cities of Borger, Fritch, and Stinnett, the City of Borger is the only one who is having contested elections this year.Two spots are up for election on the Borger City Council. In Place Two, Jeff Brain, who currently serves as Mayor of the City of Borger, is running unopposed for another term. In Place Three, Robert Vinyard, who is currently serving as Mayor Pro-Tem, is seeking re-election for another term. He is being challenged by John Ray and Brandy Callahan for the council seat.There are two seats up for election on the Borger Independent School District Board of Trustees. Incumbent Robert Bradley is seeking another term to office. Also running in this year’s election are Diedre Hood, Les Sharp, and Scott Mills. Gary Schneck, who also had a spot on the board up in this year’s election, has not filed for re-election.There is a two-year unexpired term up on the BISD board as well, and Dr. Kent Gray, who currently fills the spot, has been the only one to file.The City of Borger and Borger ISD will be holding a joint election for the council and board seats. Early voting will take place from May 2-6, 2011 at Borger City Hall, 600 North Main, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. and also on May 9-10 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.The general election for these spots will be held Saturday, May 14, 2011. The polling places are as follows:Precinct 11 – Borger Middle School, 1200 South FloridaPrecincts 33 and 42 – Paul Belton Learning Center, 800 North McGeePrecincts 14 and 23 – Fairlanes Baptist Church, 3000 Fairlanes BoulevardThe polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.Applications for ballot by mail must be submitted to Stella E. Sauls, City Secretary, P.O. Box 5250, Borger, TX 79008-5250, and must be received no later than the close of business on May 6, 2011.For more information on these elections or how to apply for a ballot by mail, contact Sauls at 273-0905.In Fritch, there are no elections scheduled for Fritch City Council or the Sanford-Fritch ISD board of trustees. Ivan Wade, Jaclyn Praeuner, and Bob Layton have filed for the seats on the Fritch City Council, and Bobby Moore and Stacey Boothe have filed for the seats on the SFISD board of trustees.In Stinnett, no elections will be held either. On the Stinnett City Council, Billy Murphy has re-filed for Mayor, Greg Drennan has re-filed for Alderman, Place One; and Dianna Sursa has re-filed for Alderman, Place Four. On the PSPCISD school board, filing for spots were Randy Heston, Rodney Franklins, and Terry Bevins, Jr.A spot was up for election on the Hutchinson County Hospital Board of Trustees. However, an election will not be held for this spot either, as Jim Corbitt, who currently holds the Place Three spot, was the only one to file for election.