Early voting begins Monday for BISD board, city council

Let the voting begin!Early voting is set to start Monday, May 2, 2011, at Borger City Hall, for the Borger City Council and Borger Independent School District Board of Trustees.The voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. starting Monday, and these hours will run every day through Friday, May 6, 2011. Early voting will also take place from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. May 9-10.The general election will be held Saturday, May 14, 2011. The polling places are as follows:Precinct 11 – Borger Middle School, 1200 South FloridaPrecincts 33 and 42 – Paul Belton Learning Center, 800 North McGeePrecincts 14 and 23 – Fairlanes Baptist Church, 3000 Fairlanes BoulevardThe polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day.Applications for ballot by mail must be submitted to Stella E. Sauls, City Secretary, P.O. Box 5250, Borger, TX 79008-5250, and must be received no later than the close of business on May 6, 2011.For more information on these elections or how to apply for a ballot by mail, contact Sauls at 273-0905.Two spots are up for election on the Borger City Council. In Place Two, Jeff Brain, who currently serves as Mayor of the City of Borger, is running unopposed for another term. In Place Two, Robert Vinyard, who is currently serving as Mayor Pro-Tem, is seeking re-election for another term. He is being challenged by John Ray and Brandy Callahan for the council seat.There are two seats up for election on the Borger Independent School District Board of Trustees. Incumbent Robert Bradley is seeking another term to office. Also running in this year’s election are Diedre Hood, Les Sharp, and Scott Mills. Gary Schneck, whose spot on the board was up in this year’s election, did not file for re-election.There is a two-year unexpired term up on the BISD board as well, and Dr. Kent Gray, who currently fills the spot, has been the only one to file.The City of Borger and Borger ISD will be holding a joint election for the council and board seats.Elections in Fritch, Stinnett, and Sanford have been officially canceled.