Dylan Winkle receives T.E. Ward Award

On Tuesday evening, Borger High School senior Dylan Winkle was selected as the 2010-11 recipient of the T.E. Ward Award.Qualifications to be nominated for the award include being an outstanding senior male athlete, exemplify the highest moral character, behavior and leadership; regulate his actions at all times so that he will be a credit to the team, school, and community; and display good sportsmanship at all times by being modest in victory and gracious in defeat.The T. E. Ward Award is given in honor of Mr. T. E. Ward, an outstanding educator, coach, and administrator for 40 years in the Texas school system. Trickey Edward Ward was named for Dr. Edward Trickey who delivered him in St. Genevieve, Missouri on October 9, 1903.Mr. Ward graduated from T.C.U.; lettered out years in football and also was outstanding in baseball and track. He obtained his Masters Degree at West Texas State University.Coach Ward came to Borger in 1945 having coached previously at Ranger High School, Ranger Junior College, Daniel Baker College, Brownwood High School, and Iraan High School. Coach Ward was an important part of our athletic program for 24 years. He was Head Coach and Athletic Director for 6 years with a record of 31 wins, 26 losses, and 3 ties. His best record was in 1946 (8-2). In his late years he taught P.E., was boys counselor, and served as athletic business manager.He was always very active in the T.H.S.C.A. and in 1965 was inducted into the T.H.S.C.A. Hall of Fame.In 1972, shortly after his death, Borger High School, along with the Borger News Herald, instituted the T. E. Ward Award to go to our outstanding senior athlete in memory of this outstanding man who had meant so much to the Borger school system.The head coaches of each sport at Borger High School are able to nominate and vote for one athlete.The other finalist for this year’s award included Kolby Cheek, Tate Gowdy, Hunter Hertel, Will Paulsell, Nathan Nicks, Michael Morrison, and Josh Madden.