County 4-H member honored at Gold Star Banquet

AMARILLO - Twenty-seven outstanding 4-H members from the Panhandle area were honored at the 55th annual Gold Star Banquet for District l on Oct. 15 at the Alumni Banquet Facility of West Texas A&M University in Canyon.     To qualify for the Gold Star Award, the highest 4-H honor at the county level, a 4-H’er must be a least l5 years old, have completed three years of club work, be an active member and complete a record book, said Brandon Dukes, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service 4-H and youth development specialist. 4-H is the youth program of AgriLife Extension.     “The award is intended to stimulate winners to higher achievement and to encourage other young people to participate in the county 4-H program,” Dukes said.       The following recipients were recognized by Danny Nusser, AgriLife Extension district administrator, and Dukes:Armstrong County – Ashley Jones; Carson – Jodie Detten; Collingsworth County – Tara BreAnn Ward; Deaf Smith County – Paula Sue Adams, Joanna Louder; Donley County – Austin Adams, Tres Hommel; Gray County – Macy Cochran; Hall County – Wesley Hawthorne; Hansford County – Jennifer Crowl, Callie Stedje; Hartley – Esther VanDijk, Rebekah Van Dijk; Hutchinson – Julia Jack; Moore County – Jessica Fischbacher, Clayton Goodwin; Ochiltree County – Brianna Jines, Nathan Jines; Oldham County – Hannah Allemand, Joni Wagner; Potter County – Sierra Bailey, Bailey Harkins; Randall County – Abby McCarty, Alyssa Quay Owen, Rachel Smith; and Sherman County – Connor Lowry, Trenton Stone.         Deaf Smith Electric Cooperative, Greenbelt Electric Cooperative, Lighthouse Electric Cooperative, North Plains Electric, Swisher Electric Cooperative and Rita Blanca Electric sponsored the annual banquet. Article Written by Kay Ledbetter ( courtesy of Diana Jack.