Council receives CVS pharmacy re-plat

The Borger City Council has received a re-plat requested by a new pharmacy coming to town.During its regular meeting Tuesday, the council acted to receive the re-plat of Lots 4-11, Block 24, Unit 4, Thompson Addition, containing 1.303 acres, to be known as Lot 4R, Block 24, Unit 4, Thompson Addition, and a physical address of 230 N. Cedar Street.A public hearing will be held on April 19, 2011, to allow for public comment on the re-plat. Larry Mullenix, director of planning and zoning, said this is a not a re-zoning request, but merely the re-plat of several pieces of property into one large piece of property.The Planning and Zoning Commission approved the re-plat request at a session held at the end of March. The re-plat would basically make the property where Cedar Lanes and Subway sits just one piece of property for construction.Representing CVS at the P&Z session was Collin Wilson, who told the commission the new pharmacy will be a bit bigger than the ones in Dumas and Pampa. He said the pharmacy has its own time frame of when it wants to start construction.Plans are tentatively in place for the summer to go ahead and start the process. Wilson told the commission that the plans have already been sent in for the city to review and the Texas Department of Transportation is currently reviewing the driveway permits and drainage report that were submitted.In other business, the council received the commission’s recommendation regarding property at 100 Denton Street and set a public hearing for May 3, 2011, to allow Jeff Whittington to appeal the commission’s decision, as well as hear public comment on the matter.Whittington’s request was to re-zone 1.5 acres of land located in the SE/4 of Section 18, Block “Y”, M&C Survey, from a single family (IF-2) zoning district to a commercial zoning district to be known as 100 Denton.However, after community members voiced concerns about the re-plat, the commission denied the request and decided to send it to the city council for further review.In other business, the council received recommendations from the Building Standards Commission on the demolition of property at 821 Moody and 128 Cottonwood. Property appeals were also approved, and those appeals will be held at the council’s next regular meeting on April 19, 2011.The appeal on the property at 821 Moody was requested by C.C. (Bud) Reynolds, who is the owner of record. Requesting the property appeal on 128 Cottonwood was Twila Stine. Gary Stephen is the owner of record on the property. Stine has claimed the house was left to her in his will, but has not been able to produce evidence to substantiate the claim.Also approved by the council was a recommendation from the Building Standards Commission for demolition of structures at 409-411 East Eighth, Lot W/56’ of 15-16, Block 9, Original Townsite Addition. Larry Byrd, an inspector for the city’s planning and zoning department, said the proper procedures were followed to contact Ms. Maria G. Alvarez, owner of record on the property. She has not made contact with the department.In other business, the council approved election judges and alternates for the May 14, 2011 City of Borger General Election. Judge for the Early Voting Ballot Board will be Suzanne Cichocki, Precinct 11 judges will be Wanda Klause, judge; and Mike Webb, alternate. Precinct 14 & 23 judges will be Joan Carder and Brenda Jackson. Precinct 33 & 42 judges will be Bertha Walker, judge; and Polly Gillingham, alternate.Robert Vinyard is seeking re-election to his spot on the Borger City Council, and is being challenged by Brandy Callahan and John Ray. Jeff Brain, who currently serves as mayor and is also seeking another term, is unopposed.The Borger ISD school board election is also being held in conjunction with the city council election. Incumbent Robert Bradley is seeking re-election for one of two spots on the school board. Also running for an additional spot on the board are Diedre Hood, Scott Mills, and Les Sharp. Current board member Gary Schneck is not seeking reelection.Council members attending the meeting were Charles Gillingham, Marvin “Bubba” Dickson, Vinyard, and Mayor Brain. Council member Leon DeWeese was not in attendance.