BISD board approves employment of district staff

The employment of various administrative staff members in Borger ISD was approved by the district board Thursday evening.The action was taken following a closed session. Among those getting their contracts renewed for the upcoming year were:•Assistant principals – Michael Cano – Borger Middle School; Dede Conaway and Mandy Poer – Borger High School•Business Manager – Faye Hooper•Director of Athletics – Rusty Purser•Director of HAC SSA – Patti Brown•Director for Instruction and Federal Programs – DeLila Holder•Executive Director of Personnel – Tony McCarthy•Director of Technology – Dewey De Loe•Instructional Services Coordinator – Barbie Schroeder•Principals – Amy Blansett – Paul Belton Early Childhood Center; Ken Rosser – Gateway Elementary; Jayson Hataway – Crockett Elementary; Randy Hatfield – Borger Intermediate School; Matt Ammerman – Borger Middle SchoolThe board also received three resignations from David Tyson, Michael Littlejohn, and Kim Spearman. Tyson has been the principal at BHS for the past year, Littlejohn was former volleyball coach for BHS, and Spearman was a teacher at BHS.In other business, the board also took care of matters pertaining to the upcoming school board election. An order of election was passed, along with a joint election order that approves BISD to combine its election with those of the City of Borger, Frank Phillips College, and the Hutchinson County Hospital District. A resolution was also passed to certify the election to be held on May 12, 2012.Those up for election on this year’s board are Todd Harris, Elaine Feese, and Bill Myers. There are two three-year terms available, along the completion of one year on a three-year term.The deadline for filing an application for a place on the ballot and for write-in candidates to file is Monday, March 5, at 5 p.m.Under the board’s consent agenda, a $250 donation was approved from Jane Phillips Society to BHS for high school teachers to purchase classroom supplies. The board also approved the January 2012 payroll and disbursements, and minutes of its regular January meeting.Board members attending the meeting were Robert Bradley, president; Harris, vice-president; David Brandon, secretary; Feese, Dr. Kent Gray, Les Sharp, and Myers.