Borger will be on display at PSHOF Ceremony

On Sunday afternoon, Borger will be well represented during the 2012 Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony taking place in the Ordway Auditorium on the Amarillo College campus, beginning at 2:00 p.m.Longtime Borger High School Coach E.J. “Jeep” Webb will be a part of this year’s three-person induction class, while Borger coach Jeff Pinkerton will be honored as the Tennis Coach of the Year, Josh and Abbie Madden as the Tennis Players of the Year, and J’Cee Pool will be honored with a Special Achievement Award.Seeing so many honors going to Borger ISD Coaches and Athletes is something Borger Athletic Director Rusty Purser takes a lot of pride in, saying, “Each of these individuals now hold a tremendous honor for not only Borger ISD, but the entire community. This is truly a very bright accomplishment for each of these individuals, and I am very proud to have had the opportunity to work with, coach, or just get to know each and every one of them.” Joining Webb in this year’s induction class are former Nazareth and West Texas A&M women’s basketball player Leona (Gerber) Wilhelm and former Dumas Head Football Coach, the late Bill Spann.Webb started his time in Borger in 1958 as an assistant coach before moving to Canyon in 1960.Webb returned to Borger as an assistant football coach and head track coach in 1966.During the years from 1966-1997, Webb held several positions in the Borger athletic department coaching football, girls basketball, boys and girls track and boys and girls cross country. Webb also served as an assistant principal for several years as well as starting Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA) chapters in Borger, Canyon, Pampa, Dumas, Stinnett, Panhandle, Perryton, Stratford and White Deer for boys and girls.Webb began his coaching career in Littlefield in 1955, where he was the head basketball coach and an assistant football coach.After two years on the Borger coaching staff from 1958-1959, Webb moved to Canyon to serve as athletic director, head football coach and track coach. During his time at Canyon, Webb won district in football and state in basketball, along with starting the girl’s basketball and track programs for the school.In 1965, Webb moved to Pampa to serve as the head track and assistant football coach before returning to Borger in 1966.During his career, Webb also served on the Board of Directors for the Texas High School Coaches Association, received several awards including a special award from the Panhandle Sports Hall of Fame for his work in AAU, the Community Builder Award from the Masonic Lodge of Texas and the Mirabeau Lamar Award for Public Education from the Masons.After his retirement from coaching in 1997, Webb continues to serve as a bus driver for Borger ISD and works as an official in track meets at the international, national, collegiate and high school levels.In the summer of 2011, Webb was inducted into the Texas Girls Association Hall of Fame and this past fall was named to the Borger ISD Honor Wall.Like many who know or have worked with Webb, Purser has a lot of respect for the longtime coach, commenting, “ It would be impossible to sum up what Coach Webb has given to Borger ISD, and his contributions over the past many years. He has dedicated so much time and effort to the students and coaches over these years, that I cannot think of anyone else that has had such an outstanding impact or is so well deserving of this honor.”Borger High School Tennis Coach Jeff Pinkerton has been selected as the 2011 Tennis Coach of the Year, after leading the Bulldog tennis team to the District 1-3A title last year, which included the 2011 3A Mixed Doubles State Champions Josh and Abbie Madden.During his time leading the Borger High School Tennis program, Pinkerton has turned it into one of the best 3A programs in West Texas, which has qualified several players to the regional tournament every year.Purser praised Pinkerton’s work ethic, saying, “Coach Pinkerton has committed himself to improving a program that has seen ups and downs over the years, and through his effort, has represented the BISD with great honor and respect. I am very proud to have had the opportunity to work with him, and see his accomplishments of the past two seasons.” The 2011 3A Mixed Doubles champions Abbie and Josh Madden will be honored as the 2011 Tennis Players of the Year, after the brother and sister duo won Borger’s first state title in tennis.Both Josh and Abbie can be described as being reserved and laid back off the tennis court. But on the court, the duo played with a high level of intensity and focus in 2011 and were able to finish the season with an impressive 25-1 record.J. Madden is currently a freshman at Oklahoma State University, while A. Madden is a senior at Borger High School and continues to be a member of the Borger High School tennis team..2011 Borger High School graduate J’Cee Pool has been named as the winner of a Special Achievement Award. Pool was a great athlete during her time as a Lady Bulldog, where she was a member of the volleyball, basketball, and track teams.Entering the 2011 track season, Pool had a goal of reaching the state meet in the shot put. Pool would go on to achieve that goal and took second place at state in the event. But it was in the discus where she turned a lot of heads in 2011 by winning the 3A state title in her first year competing in the event.Pool is the first Borger female athlete to win a state title in track and field.Pool currently is a student at Texas Tech University and is a member of the Lady Red Raider track team.